The Intern’s First Big Project

As an intern, at least from my experience, your job is to do whatever tasks or projects you’re told to do. Sometimes it’s grueling, sometimes it’s interesting, and then everyone once in a while you get a project that’s just really cool, like my last project, which sent me to the quaint resort town of Kennebunkport, Maine.

During the first several weeks of my internship I was told to keep the weekend of July 20th open. As time went on, I learned that this particular weekend was IDG Venture Boston’s annual summer PR event called Catch the Wave. For the event, the general partners of this venture capital firm invite investors, CEOs of portfolio companies, and other IDG friends for a networking event/weekend getaway. This year, Catch the Wave decided to add a new feature, the 80108 text messaging service. The week prior and during the course of the event, people would receive text messages from 80108 with weather updates, logistical information, trivia questions, and other relevant information.

This was big for 80108. First, this was going to be one of 80108’s first partner text channels. Second, this partnership was with an investor; so of all eyes to be watching, these were the ones to impress. From this small-scale event, 80108 was going to explore its capacity to service a conference-style event and understand how effective it can be. And just in case anything was to be changed on the spot or technical assistance needed at the event, they wanted me to be the on-site for Catch the Wave.

I was thrilled! For the event, I was going to learn how to use our content system, coordinate publishing logistics, help a well-established venture capital firm, and score a free trip to Maine, a state I’d never been to. So as soon as I could begin working on it, I did. There was a lot of preparation involved from drafting content to coordinating an editorial timeline. We even needed to create new templates specifically for Catch the Wave. This was an important event, and everything needed to be dead-on.

The weekend of the event, I was ready to go. The text messaging system was set to run, and just in case of any immediate issues, I had my computer, packed in with my beach towel of course.

Throughout the course of the weekend, as I introduced myself as the 80108 intern, I received a large amount of positive feedback. People really enjoyed the updates about dinner, sailing, transportation, etc. While waiting for the shuttle, I was describing 80108 to a group of beach goers, and after hearing more about the service, a gentleman signed up for the service on the spot.

At another time, a woman asked me for directions to one of the hotels. Not able to think of the address off the top of my head, I whipped out my phone and read her the directions from an 80108 text message I had received. She was very impressed and asked how she could sign up for the service. These were just the kind of responses 80108 wanted! My “on-site” purpose was put to use on Saturday, when the partners decided to text everyone the location of the IDG after party. Within minutes, I was able to draft a message and send it to the subscribers.

In the end, all that preparation led to a smooth weekend. From our initial text message two weeks before Catch the Wave, the 80108 service got people excited for the weekend, and once there, it helped keep people closely connected with these informative event messages. We were so successful, that IDG reported logistical questions were significantly reduced, and event participation increased. This included costume participation at their Saturday evening event with a little reminder from our service before the weekend. Overall, people really enjoyed the service and our customer, IDG Ventures Boston, were very pleased. It was fantastic to be part of a successful and informative project for 80108.

-Jess

Leave a comment